“Don’t stop trying just because you hit a wall. Progress is progress no matter how small.” 

Sounds a bit like a Dr. Seuss quote if ya ask me. I found this little piece of inspiration last week on Pinterest (what else) and it has been a daily reminder to continue the path that I’m on.  I am officially down 14 pounds with 19 left to lose. THAT’S ALMOST HALFWAY! I am still loving Planet Fitness although I have had to switch up my workout routine in order to not fall into that notorious “rut” that people talk about. This week I have really been utilizing exercise balls and medicine balls. Changing up the routine has done wonders!

In other news, I have discovered The Fresh Market located near the Promenade Mall in Rogers, AR. I think I am in LOVE. They have everything from organic produce to organic cleaning supplies. My favorite portion of the store is the coffee section where I found this:

20150422_124550

All natural, 60 calories, and delicious!

In conjunction with my hankering for healthy habits, I tried out a few new recipes this month:

Cauliflower Pizza

This cauliflower crust pizza has only 118 (118.2 if you want to get technical) calories per slice! The recipe I used can be found here: http://www.foodandnewyorkcity.com/2013/03/cauliflower-crust.html?m=1

Spaghetti Squash

I tried this AMAZING spaghetti squash just tonight adding marinara and mozzarella cheese which proved to be delightful. 31 calories per cup of spaghetti squash!

How to cook spaghetti squash: http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-cook-spaghetti-squash-in-the-oven-cooking-lessons-from-the-kitchn-178036

Homemade Whipped Cream

I saved dessert for last! Homemade whipped cream! SO good.

Recipe: http://www.frugallivingmom.com/the-easiest-homemade-whipped-cream/#_a5y_p=2486522

Lemon Water

(Okay maybe dessert wasn’t last) This one I stole from my mom. (I love you mom!) Water with fresh squeezed organic lemon and a few drops of liquid Stevia.

AND NOW FOR MY PROUD MOMENT…………..(drum roll)…………………….

Deck table

My very first “construction” project from scratch! (Also completed with the help of my mother…I love you mom!) I made the measurements for my deck and the list of supplies, then mom and I ventured out to Lowe’s last week in the pouring rain to pick up the supplies. (Seriously it was POURING and two very nice gentlemen wrapped and loaded the materials into the car for us). We got out my two trusty power drills and put it together right in…the guest bedroom. (I said it was raining outside). This picture is from last week, I have since stained it and lined some herbs around the edge.

There ya have it! As always, thank you for reading!

Now I must go, my planet needs me.

-brooke

One thought on “A little bit of everything: Progress & Projects

  1. This is my favorite post yet! I am so proud of all your hard work. I’m glad you enjoyed the homemade lemonade and your new healthy recipes! The project was so fun to do with you this last weekend too. Good times!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

